Ann Metzger Memorial National All Media Exhibition

Pat Brokaw, "Golden Shadows"
Thomas Yanko, GeomorphiX 2
Barbara Zucker, "Floral Combine"

The Ann Metzger Memorial National All Media Exhibition is a biennial, juried, all-media, all-content, all-styles exhibition, open to artists across the United States.

Click here to read Sarah Weinman's review of the Ann Metzger exhibition for the St. Louis Jewish Light.

Click here to see photos from the opening reception.

Jurors' Statement:

It was a pleasure to act a juror a second time for the St. Louis Artists' Guild. I much prefer to see works of art in the flesh when jurying, but that it is not always practical in some situations. The judgements I make are obviously based on personal preference, but I am essentailly looking for quality of craftsmanship, a uniqueness of vision, and the expressive power to convey that vision to the viewer. I have also aimed to fairly represent the diverse media of the works submitted. Many congratulations to all of the artist in the exhibition.

— Marla Prather

Exhibition Juror: Marla Prather

Marla Prather is Curator in the Department of Modern and Contemporary Art at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, which she joined in 2008. From 2005 to 2007, she was the Curator for American Art at Tate Modern, London, and from 1999 to 2004, the Curator of Postwar Art at the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York. She joined the National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C., in 1986, becoming Curator and Head of the Department of 20th Century Art from 1996 to 1999. From 1982 to 1984, she was the Curator of Painting and Sculpture at the Spencer Museum of Art, University of Kansas, where she was also a lecturer in the history of art.

Among her exhibitions at the Whitney were Unrepentant Ego: The Self-Portraits of Lucas Samaras (2003–4) and American Legacy: A Gift to New York (2003). At the National Gallery of Art, her projects included the National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden (1998), Alexander Calder, 1898-1976 (1998) and Willem de Kooning: Paintings (1994), which travelled to the Metropolitan Museum and Tate Gallery. She has been a Trustee of the Archives of American Art since 1999. Last year, she was the curator for the Met's venue of John Baldesarri: Pure Beauty. Most recently, she contributed to the Metropolitan's Picasso catalogue and to the catalogue for an exhibition at the National Gallery, London on the work of British artist Bridget Riley. She is currently preparing Ellsworth Kelly: Plant Drawings for Summer 2012 and Regarding Warhol: Fifty Artists Fifty Years for the fall of 2012.


Cash prizes will be awarded by the juror. Available prizes for this year's Ann Metzger Memorial National All Media Exhibition are:

Ann Metzger Award for Best of Show: $500

Mimi Hart Silver, "Nave." Oil, 60" x 40"

Mimi Hart Silver, Nave. Oil, 60" x 40"

Edgar L. Metzger Memorial Award for Photography: $250

Brittany Ransom, "Track Series Image #3." Photography, 2010.

Brittany Ransom, Track Series Image #3. Photography, 2010.

JHL & J Memorial Prize: $150

Miguel de Aguero, "Manifold Series — Tourmaline." Mixed media, 27" x 56 1/2", 2012

Miguel de Ageuro, Manifold Series — Tourmaline. Mixed media, 27" x 56 1/2", 2012.

Cynthia Berg Prize: $100

Jerry Lamme,"Alice." Digital zone plate composite, 16" x 20", 2012

Jerry Lamme, Alice (Room Series). Digital zone plate composite, 16" x 20", 2012.

Fred & Mildred Carpenter Annual Prize for Painting: $100

Albert Kuo, "American Landscape." Oil, 32" x 48"

Albert Kuo, American Landscape. Oil, 32" x 48"

Jill Hill Prize: $100

John Schnellman, "Sasquatch Spine." Ceramic on steel, 29" x 8" x 6", 2012.

John Schnellman, Sasquatch Spine. Ceramic on steel, 29" x 8" x 6", 2012

William K. Bixby Annual Bequest Prize: $100

Peggy Wyman, "Fandango II." Long-leaf pine needles, Irish waxed linen, pearl cotton, gourd, wire. 19 1/2" x 11 1/2" x 12", 2010

Peggy Wyman, Fandango II. Long-leaf pine needles, Irish waxed linen, pearl cotton, gourd, wire. 19 1/2" x 11 1/2" x 12", 2010

Alice Gerdine Prize: $100

Dan Scott, "IH." Wood, embroidery floss, encaustic on panel, 8" x 8" x 2", 2012

Dan Scott, IH. Wood, embroidery floss, and encaustic on panel, 8" x 8" x 2", 2012

Viola Longmire Memorial Prize: $100\

Debi Pickler, "Character." Pencil, 9" x 13", 2011

Debi Pickler, Character. Pencil, 9" x 13", 2011


Muhammad Alhawagri* (St. Louis, MO)
Laura Bailey* (St. Louis, MO)
Geoff Bent (Glen Ellyn, IL)
Susan Bolhafner* (St. Louis, MO)
Pat Brokaw* (Bonne Terre, MO)
Elizabeth Cavanaugh Cohen* (St. Louis, MO)
Maria Cooper* (Collinsville, IL)
Jerry Cox* (Hillsboro, MO)
Cathie Crawford (Peoria, IL)
Miguel de Aguero* (Gray Summit, MO)
Ted Denton (Marshall, MO)
Dennis DeToye* (Edwardsville, IL)
Tim Eberhardt* (St. Louis, MO)
Suzy Farren* (St. Louis, MO)
Carol Foster* (Tampa, FL)
Deidre Fox
Claire Frandsen (Fenton, MO)
Sarah Gillespie (Edwardsville, IL)
Karen Glines* (St. Louis, MO)
M.J. Goerke* (St. Louis, MO)
Derek Gollaher (Farmington, MO)
Katy Guetzlaff (Fulton, MO)
Eden Harris* (St. Louis, MO)
Hilary Hitchcock* (St. Louis, MO)
Diana Hoffmann* (St. Louis, MO)
Donald Hortsman (Fenton, MO)
Khara Koffel (Jacksonville, IL)
Ken Kuellmer* (St. Louis, MO)
Albert Kuo (St. Louis, MO)
Jerry Lamme (Tuscaloosa, AL)
Andrea and Sarah-Marie Land (St. Louis, MO)
Sherry Leary* (Goddy Daisy, TN)
Laurie LeBreton (Chicago, IL)
Jimmy Liu (Ballwin, MO)
Casey Lowry (Newman, IL)
Greg MacNair* (Clayton, MO)
Nathan Marshall (St. Louis, MO)
Christy Martin* (O’Fallon, MO)
Ron McIlvain* (Kirkwood, MO)
Michael Meinhold* (St. Louis, MO)
Dawson Morgan* (Chesterfield, MO)
Benjamin Mudd* (St. Louis, MO)
Bonnie Murray (St. Louis, MO)
Ken O’Toole (Ft. Worth, TX)
Mark Pease (Carbondale, IL)
Debi Pickler (St. Charles, MO)
Brittany Ransom (Chicago, IL)
Joel Ray (Cape Girardeau, MO)
Frank Roth* (St. Louis, MO)
Neeta Satam (St. Louis, MO)
John Schnellmann (Chesterfield, MO)
Nora Schomogy* (Maryland Heights, MO)
Dan Scott (Columbia, MO)
Steven Silberg (Collinsville, MD)
Mimi Silver
Courtney Tharpe* (St. Louis, MO)
Jim Trotter* (St. Louis, MO)
Jim True* (Crystal City, MO)
Andy Van Der Tuin (St. Louis, MO)
Terry Vermillion* (Fenton, MO)
Margaret Von Kaenel* (St. Louis, MO)
Maggie Wheelcock (St. Louis, MO)
Melissa Whiteman (St. Charles, MO)
Tom Whitton (West Palm Beach, FL)
Jenny Wiener (Tavares, FL)
Christoper Wille (Bloomington, IL)
Gwin Willis* (St. Louis, MO)
Kay Wood* (St. Louis, MO)
Peggy Wyman (Macomb, MO)
Thomas Yanko (St. Louis, MO)
Carol Zeman* (Osage Beach, MO)
Fotios Zemenides (Chicago, IL)
Maggie Zografakis* (St. Louis, MO)
Barbara Zucker* (St. Louis, MO)
*St. Louis Artists' Guild member


Sunday, June 17, 2012 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Exhibition Dates: 
Sunday, June 17, 2012 - Saturday, August 11, 2012
Free and Open to the Public
Marla Prather